Piscataway Education Foundation Awards Grants for Innovative Teaching
Piscataway Education Foundation Awards Grants for Innovative Teaching
Posted on 09/22/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Piscataway Education Foundation Awards Grants for Innovative TeachingThe Piscataway Education Foundation (PEF) is pleased to announce the grant winners for its 2017-2018 Teacher Grant Program. Sixteen teachers were awarded grants and all schools within the district received at least one grant award.

This is the third year the PEF funded teacher grants through a competitive process, and the foundation received 49 worthy grant applications. Grants are awarded for innovative teaching practices and non-traditional teaching methods The 16 Inspire Grants represent funding of over $20,000.

Grants were awarded to teachers spanning preschool through high school. Curriculum areas included Literacy, STEM, Physical Education and Health, Fine and Performing Arts, Special Education, Social Studies, Foreign Language and ESL. Grants were also awarded for Character Education, Stress Reduction, and Peer Communication.

“Foundation efforts have already funded many innovative ideas from our own staff,” noted Dr. Frank Ranelli, Assistant Superintendent of Schools, in presenting the grants. “Selecting this year’s winners was particularly challenging, as our teachers submitted fantastic projects. We hope that through the fundraising efforts of the Piscataway Education Foundation, we will continue this practice for years to come.”

The following teachers and programs will be funded by PEF Teacher Grants for the 2017-2018 school year:

  • Children’s Corner : Margaret Marcinko for “Book Bags”
  • Eisenhower: Sara Shapiro for “Cool Down Space”
  • Grandview: Christian Lee for  "A View of the Future" Digital Photography
  • Knollwood: Donna Srouji for “Conversation Enrichment Group”
  • Randolphville: Rajvi Kamdar for “Breathe for Change”
  • Arbor: Aleda Gerum and Kathy Malinconico for “The Revolutionary War Comes Alive”
  • ML King: Karyn Nickels, Jill Brown, Vanessa Middleton, Sarah Yi, and Nicole Bal for “MLK Peer Leaders Program”
  • Conackamack: Johanna Reid for “Couch to 5K”
  • Quibbletown: Vivian Fasano for “Portable Ballet Bars [barres]”; George Batalas for “How to Hydro”; Vanessa Fowler and Jessica Colleton for “NewsELA”
  • Schor: Brittany Gentul for “Mo' Math, Less Problems” [Museum of Math Trip]; Mary Ann Williams and Dr. Orsolina Cetta for “Mathematics Potential Space Mission”
  • All Middle Schools: Dr. Patrick Connelly, Dr. Scott Kraiterman, Mrs. Donna DeAngelis White, and Dr. Maria Cetta for “SILS: Success in Life and Schools”
  • PHS: Paul Mazur for "The Future of Transportation - Autonomous Vehicle Smart Cars”;  Dr. Patrick Connelly, Maryann Thein, and Jill Fraticelli for “Mindfulness and Yoga for At Risk Students”