Counseling K-12

The American School Counselor Association honored
Piscataway’s K-12 Developmental Counseling Program as a 
National Exemplary Program

On the K-12 School Counseling web site you will find names and contact information for our District team of developmental school counselors, a listing of parent evening workshops, and updates on elementary counseling, middle school counseling, high school counseling, and our high school Career Center. Included in the high school section is important information on financial aid. We maintain our list of scholarship opportunities regularly. Also included are SAT information and a hyperlink to the College Board web site. 


Counseling Staff for 2023-2024

Theresa Edmondson, Supervisor of Pupil Personnel and Guidance Services
(732-572-2289 x2554)
Faride Hernandez, Supervisor of College, Career & Personal Guidance
(732-981-0700 x2232)
Dr. Laura Heimlich, Supervisor of K-8 Counseling and Health Services
(732-699-1563 x5480)

Padmani Itwaru, District Counseling Secretary (732-981-0700 x2024) 

Piscataway High School (732-981-0700)

Shirley Aviles (x2027)

  Mark Kiang (x2234)

Patricia Brewster (x2237)

Nicole Martelli (x2236)

Richard Brown (x2226)

Shar-Mekka Pernell (x2238)

Nicole Duarte (x 2228)

Rodney West (x2227)

Jill Fraticelli (x2450)

Kelly Chilakos,
College & Career Counselor (x2038) 


Brian Wischusen (x2224)  

Rosie Nemes, Secretary (x2222)

Padmani Itwaru, Secretary (x2231)


Conackamack (732-699-1577)

Diane Hanson, Secretary (x5115)

Esteban Mena (x5117)

Dr. Kelvin Rogers (x5116)

Quibbletown (732-752-0444)

Nancy Rutowski, Secretary (x5314)

Mawiyah Husbands

Alexandra Minsinger


Catherine Sotolongo

Schor (732-752-4457)

Donna Recine, Secretary (x5214)

Nancy Arvizzigno

Uma Patel

Intermediate Schools

Arbor (732-752-8652)

King (732-699-1563)

Amy McLaughlin (x5556)

Nicholas Kaiafas (x5461)


Elementary Schools









Sara Haarburger (x5648)

Maria Balint

Dr. Sarah Aboudara (x5822)

Dr. Claudia

The Haven


Jennifer Neely, Secretary (x2250)

Dr. Pat Connelly, Director